• Welcome to the Lakshmi Shop

    Browse our range of homemade products and Ayurvedic essentials

  • You are Perfect the way You Are

    September 22, 2020 3 min read

    You are Perfect the way You Are

    You are perfect the way you are!

    This is a follow up to my radio interview yesterday. After we had finished, Jenn from Radio Fremantle asked if people favour to be one of the three Doshas (Vata, Pitta or Kapha) ???

    And Yes this is something we see very often in clinic. Somebody says oh I thought I was the creative and enthusiastic type and not the fiery one. Or somebody says I thought I I was the type who is prone to weight gain and not the stressed out one ?

    Be assured each one of us has qualities of all the three doshas. There is just a predominance in one or two of the doshas or we can be Tridoshic (an even balance of all three).

    Vata, pitta, and kapha are each essential to our physiology in some way, so no one dosha is better than, or superior to, any other. Each of them has a very specific set of functional roles to play in the body. All dosha are wonderful when in balance. We would like to avoid an increase (vriddhi) or decrease (kshaya) as this will bring on a disease. The imbalance is called the Vikruti.

    Beauty of the three doshas:
    Vata type ?

    Is full of enthusiasm, creativity, dance, music, movement and alertness.
    Pitta type?

    Is full of knowledge, intellectual, courage and bravery.

    Kapha type?

    A beautiful friend full of compassion, love, stability and strength.

    I wanted to highlight that there is no need to favour Vata, Pitta or Kapha ???

    You are perfect the way you are.
    A little bit more about Prakriti:

    Ones individual body constitution and mental temperament is known as Prakriti.

    One’s Prakriti is acquired at birth and remains with the individual throughout his/her life.

    A person’s doshas will fluctuate throughout their entire life (age, season, diet, digestion, lifestyle) however, the Prakriti remains unchanged.

    Charaka quotes that the prakriti of the foetus is determined by the following factors Su. Sa. 4:63

    1. Sperm and ovum – shukra and sonita

    2. Season (rtu) and the condition of the uterus

    3. Food and regimes of the mother

    4. Nature of the mahabhutas (elements) comprising the foetus.
    The above factors are all addressed in the Ayurvedic approach to pre conception care.
    The seven Prakritis are

    1. Vataja?

    2. Pittaja?

    3. Kaphaja?

    4. Vata Pittaja

    5. Vata Kaphaja

    6. Kapha Pittaja

    7. Tridosaja.

    The first three are single dosha (eka doshaja prakriti) these are more rare.

    Most of us are the next three which are a combination of the two.

    Why it is important to know your Prakriti?

    You are able to learn which foods are suited for you.

    You gain an understanding which illnesses your body is more prone to.

    You are able to follow a lifestyle suited to you.

    You can follow a seasonal regime suited to you.

    You are able to notice any imbalance in the doshas and can learn how you can balance them again.

    You will learn about any emotional tendencies.

    Cultivating a relationship with each of the three doshas can have a transformative impact on your overall health and well-being. We would love to support you in beginning to befriend the doshas in your life. If you would like to find out about your unique Ayurvedic constitution, book your initial consultation.

    Have a scroll on our website we have so much downloadable information available for you.


    With Love your Lakshmi Ayurveda team ❤️❤️❤️

    PS: if you would like to listen to our chat here is the link (2pm-3.30pm session).