This is a continuity from our Facebook post from last week about Dhatus/ body tissues the Saptadhatus.

Dhatu is that which supports the sarira (body), manas (mind), and prana (life).

Dhatus exist in two forms sthayi dhatu (well formed dhatus which supports the body) and asthayi dhatus which are seen to support the former by nourishing, sustaining and maintaining them.

There are three laws of Dhatu nourishment
1.Ksheera dadhi nyaya – law of complete transformation
2.Kedara kulya nyaya – law of field irrigation
3.Khale kapota nyaya – law of heap of grains and pigeons.

Read more

This is a continuity from our facebook articles about the Saptadhatus (seven body tissues). From digested food (ahara rasa) the seven body tissues are formed.

The Saptadhatus are

1. Rasa – Plasma
2. Rakta – Blood
3. Mamas – Muscle
4. Medas – adipose tissue
5. Asthi – bone and cartilage
6. Majja– bone marrow
7. Shukra – reproductive fluids.

We have talked about Rasa, Rakta, Mamsa, Meda and now we are looking at Asthi, Majja and Shukra dhatu. If you have missed the articles just scroll back on our facebook page.

Read more


I am sure you all heard about the three doshas Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

But have you heard of the term Dhatus? Dhatus denotes the structural components of the body.

The definition of dhatu is:

Deha dharanat dhatavah- They support the body.

If the Dhatus/ body tissue get vitiated they are called as dushyas (as the get vitiated by the doshas).

We have to remember that there is no disease without a dosha (Vata/ Pitta/ Kapha) imbalance.

Read more

What do your nails say about your health?​

Physical conditions often provide us with warning signs of health issues occurring inside the body. The health of your nails is no exception 💅particularly in relation to the health of our bones.

People that are predominantly Vata in constitution or those facing a Vata imbalance have generally thin and easy to break nails. They also have a tendency to bite their nails. 😬 Those with a Pitta constitution tend to have smooth nails, pink in colour while Kapha qualities of nails make them strong 💪and difficult to break.

Read more

Hridaya (Heart) an Ayurvedic Perspective

Did you know those 5 facts about the Hridaya?

  1. The word Hridaya is the Sanskrit word for the heart. It is derived from the 3 verbs.

Hru – means Harati (to receive from)

Da – means Dadati (to give)

Ya – means Yagati (to control)

  1. Ayurveda considers the Hridaya as one of the 10 important regions where the prana (life) exists (pranayatan). Ch. Su. 29/3

The Pranayatan 10 regions include the right and left temporal regions, Marmas – shiras (head), hridaya (heart), basti (bladder/kidneys), kantha (larynx and tracheal region), rakta (blood), shukra (semen), ojas (vital essence), and guda (anal region).


  1. The hridaya is situated in between two mammary glands and is the essence of rakta (blood) and sleshma (kapha dosha). It has been conserved as a derivative of matraj bhava (maternal factor) by Charaka Ch. Sha. 4/15.


  1. Sushruta described the shape of hridaya is a like a reverse lotus (Su. Sha 4/32). The functioning of the heart has been described as a lotus which opens at day time and closes in the night. While asleep the cardiac output decreases.


  1. Did you know that all the 3 doshas are located in the hridaya? It is the seat of Vyana Vayu (responsible for our circulation), Sadhaka Pitta (represents the enzymes in the heart as well as emotions) and Avalambaka Kapha (represents interstitial fluid) and Ojas (8 drops).

Ojas is the essence of the dhatus (bodily tissues). It represents the energy required for all the functions of the body and mind. All the sense and motor organs, mind and life itself depends on ojas in their proper functioning.

The blood is nourished with oxygen in the lungs and is moved by the Vyana vayu. The heart is an organ which draws fluid including blood from all over the body and then supplies it to all the parts of the body.


The heart is the seat of the consciousness, the seat of knowledge, intellect and the mind,

In Ayurveda the brain can also be called hridaya, showing us that the heart and brain interact in a dynamic relationship, regulating many aspects of cognition and emotional experience.

A very good treatment for Hridroga (heart disease) is called Uro Vasti. The treatment involves the patient retaining warm medicated oil on a specific area of the chest over a specific period of time. The medicated oil used for this treatment are Balaashwagandhadi taila, Bala taila and Narayana taila.

The treatment is best done over a period of 7 days.

A heartfelt welcome to Lakshmi Ayurveda